Track of the Moment

Dragonette – “Sweet Poison”

September 22, 2016 0 Comments

It’s been four years since Dragonette released their third album, Bodyparts, which took the #2 spot in my Top Albums of 2012 tally.

The Canadian pop trio hasn’t been entirely mum since, as a parade of Dragonette collaborations with Mike Mago, Lenno, Pride of Lions, Paul Harris, Dada, and Philip George, plus the DIY single “Let The Night Fall” (from June 2015) attests. Now Dragonette is set to issue their fourth full-length, Royal Blues, on November 11.

While those previous collabs didn’t make the cut, “Let The Night Fall” opens Royal Blues and “Lonely Heart,” released as a single in May, are on the album. What else can we expect? Well, the recent revelation that married members Martina Sorbara and Dan Kurtz went through a difficult separation didn’t grab headlines like this week’s Brangelina breakup, but considering the title of Dragonette’s new album and latest single, the tantalizing “Sweet Poison,” the couples’ experience has made it into the music: “We’re two wrongs that won’t make a right.”

My heart breaks for Sorbara and Kurtz, but we’re here for some sad-disco pop aren’t we, so really it’s a win-win for all involved.

Here’s the tracklist for Royal Blues:

1. Let The Night Fall
2. Body 2 Body
3. Lonely Heart
4. Royal Blues
5. Sweet Poison (featuring Dada)
6. Secret Stash (featuring Mike Mago)
7. Save My Neck
8. Darth Vader
9. High Five
10. Detonate
11. Love Can’t Touch Me Now
12. Lost Teenagers
13. Future Ghost

Stream Dragonette – “Sweet Poison” via Spotify, Apple Music.